制造优化

常见问题

考虑使用高级计划&日程安排方案的公司在开始使用之前通常会提出一些问题:


在试图使用APS之前,公司内部应该具备哪些前提条件?

APS是一款“数据密集型”工具,必须填充正确的信息。对离散制造商来说,您需要具备生产路线和材料清单;对流程制造商来说,您需要具备生产公式和运行速率。如果您正在进行库存限制性日程安排,那么拥有一套带有准确现有库存数量的可信赖的库存控制程序也是非常重要的。而且,如果是按日运行计划周期,您每天至少需要对产品完成情况进行追踪;而如果按周运行计划周期,那么您可以每周对产品完成情况进行追踪。请记住:您的日程安排计划只会优于所输入的数据。


我们不能确定是否需要“限定性”安排。限定性安排什么时候会优于非限定性安排?

尽管粗略的“非限定性”产能计划对计划长期人工和生产能力水平有用,但大多数制造公司会发现使用“限定性”的、基于限制因素的计划更有价值。除非您在安排一项极低产量的订单(数量可能低于25),可以人工进行拖拽调整,否则限定性安排将会为您带来非限定性计划所不能的好处。即使您通常有足够的生产能力,但还是有可能出现工作负荷堆积的情况,造成暂时性的生产瓶颈。限定性安排能够让您洞察到这些瓶颈现象将会出现在何时何地;而且一项订单生产日程安排的变更会对其他订单以及详细的、正在执行的计划产生影响,为生产车间和计划部门节省大量的时间。


您应该如何衡量APS是否成功呢?

尽管有一些常用的衡量方法,但您的成功概念取决于公司独特的业务 - 这些因素包括诸如“什么会令您的公司更具竞争力”、“您的成本是如何分布的”、以及“您遇到的是何种客户需求”等。安装运行APS初始阶段最重要的是明确公司的关键区域并确定出APS在哪些方面能提供帮助。例如,如果按时送货是一个难题,那么您可能希望追踪查看过期日期的执行情况。如果生产过程中原材料耗竭经常发生,那您需要追踪生产车间此类原材料出现断货的发生频率。如果问题是WIP过多或前置时间过长,您需要为生产跨度时间和等待时间设定度量指标。另一个常见目标是缩短计划人员在更新日程安排上所花费的时间;在这一点上,追踪软件安装前后更新计划所花时间会很有帮助。


通常情况下,谁从APS软件工具使用中获利最多?

APS带来的好处取决于所解决问题的大小。如果您经常错过送货日期、不能确定出准确且具竞争力的前置时间、库存水平较高、花较长时间对计划进行管理,或者在主要设备使用上经常发生变化,APS在这些情况下所带来的价值比较高。需要APS的其他指标应该是:

  • 高数量的SKUs或客户订单
  • 产品来源较多
  • 生产设备昂贵
  • 客户订单和工程更改订单经常变化
  • >制造流程复杂,很难人工进行安排>
  • 设定时间较长
  • 有批处理工作需求
  • 质量相关的问题可以源自于生产安排上的错误

如果已经存在ERP系统,我们为什么还需要一个APS工具?

ERP系统是管理诸如订单输入和库存控制等交易的极好工具。由于大多数ERP系统由财务系统发展而来,因此其主要功能一直是记录已经发生的事件而不是计划即将发生的事件。结果就是,其系统构架的优化被用于交易过程而不是大规模高容量的数据分析。一个普通的MRP再生成在ERP系统可以花几个小时或几天时间才能完成,而借助APS工具可能只需要几秒钟。这是一个关键的应用事项,因为没有哪一个计划人员能够承受每次变更日程安排时都要等几个小时甚至几天。

而且,用来设计和创建APS系统所需的专业知识与众不同且非常专业化,因此很难轻易掌握。大多数ERP开发项目都将计划部分留作事后添加或仅仅停留在浅表水平。APS则与之相反,全部都是细节设计。这也是大多数ERP系统中“经典”的日程安排功能不被使用的原因 - 简单地说就是,对大多数公司来说,其功能设计太简单,不值得一用。APS对ERP来说是一个有效的补充,因为它恰好解决了ERP想要解决的问题。


在评价APS工具时,我该如何进行比较?

APS评估过程应该关注一件事情:是否解决了关键性的业务问题。所以,从确定哪个是您最想解决的问题开始,确保该工具能够“复制”该问题且最终解决该问题。创建两个事项的优先权列表:APS相关的关键性业务事项,以及创建日程安排时计划人员必须予以考虑的原则和限制因素。与您的APS供应商合作,详细完成这两个事项。

其他需要考虑的事宜包括技术、构架,当然还有拥有该工具所需要的全部成本。应该尽可能使用当前的技术和构架,而且要与您的其他系统以及IT员工所具有的专业知识相容。数据容量也是一个关键因素。选择系统之前,确定它能够处理您的订单数量。从实用角度考虑,在一个全面加载计划内进行拖拽式再安排时应该不会妨碍与其他工作之间的切换;而且再安排过程应该只花费几秒钟的时间,而不是几分钟。应该考虑一下成本。对于需要大量程序营建模型的系统来说,安装成本可能非常高;所以应该确保将这些成本与软件本身费用一并考虑。

最后,如果需要多个计划人员同时登录并进行修改,或者需要对多工厂合作进行支持,您应该确认您的APS软件工具能够提供这些功能。与ERP系统不同,大多数APS系统是单一人员、单一工厂系统,所以购买时应该仔细选择。
一个普通的生产计划人员学习使用APS工具有多困难?
学习曲线可能更多地取决于个人而不是系统。如果您选择的人员熟悉计算机、了解产品限制因素、而且能够快速掌握新知识,他们不需要太多培训即可在数周内熟练掌握该软件操作。否则可能需要较长的时间。


‘Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling'软件程序适用于哪个行业?

我们已经在多个行业的几百家工厂内安装了日程安排软件。我们设计的‘Demand Solutions高级计划与日程安排'软件适应性相当广泛,能够处理大部分的生产安排问题。我们的行业经验覆盖食品与饮料业、化工加工车间、医疗器械制造、工业机械制造、咖啡烘烤、高科技、打印、集装箱、注射模型、卡车设备制造以及汽车制造业。如果您想确定我们的系统是否适用于贵公司,请致电给我们 - 我们会安排专家与您一起探讨您所遇到的特殊难题。


‘Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling'软件允许对日程安排进行人工调整吗?

绝对可以!这是该方案的最大强项之一:在图形拖拽环境下您可以很轻松地进行变更。‘Demand Solutions高级计划与日程安排'软件比普通日程安排系统有限的拖拽功能先进一步,它使用“能力制约型”拖拽功能。这意味着当实施更改时,系统会调整计划安排以保证生产能力不超越极限,且遵守原材料的限制因素。这允许您能够快速、轻松地实施更改,而且能够马上看到变更所产生的影响。市场上存在许多其他人工或自动日程安排工具。请致电给我们,更多地了解我们能够为您提供的事项。

为什么我们要优先选择Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件?

Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件在创建准确日程安排上具有优势,它可以考虑到所有限制因素(例如人工、机器、原材料、工具和存储等)。因“能力制约型”拖拽功能,该软件工具较容易使用。Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件基于微软旗舰平台“.NET ”框架,这意味着用户更熟悉(类似微软Office)、支持更广泛、更易整合且使用年限更长等优势。Demand Solutions软件还是唯一的“合作性”日程安排系统,允许多名计划人员同时登录并实施日程再安排,这意味着您可以随公司业务的增加按需使用该系统。


在ERP系统中我们没有任何“钉住”信息能够将不同水平的材料清单联系在一起。Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件能够在工作订单之间进行合作生产吗?或者我们必须人为添加这种链接吗?

Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件可以检查每份工作订单的材料清单以明确原材料需求,然后自动将材料流程固定到所有工作订单上(任何水平均可)。所以,即使没有显式链接,如果一份供应工作订单将要推迟,该系统也会对您或者再安排相关订单发出预警(通过拖拽功能等)。注意,当中间产品必须被安排到一份或多份指定的下游产品工作订单中时,您也可以在工作订单之间创建显式链接。


系统是否能够进行实时更新,这样我们的计划安排总是最准确的?

是的。只要收到信息,Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling系统就会即刻更新,例如一项操作完成或者一台机器出现故障等。信息更新可以取自ERP系统,或者直接源自工人汇报或生产车间追踪系统。Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling系统也有自己的屏幕,称为“车间浏览”,设计用于为车间生产人员显示日程安排,并允许他们进行生产汇报。


Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件允许对多个工厂的生产进行日程安排吗?

是的。该系统是一个“合作性”日程安排系统,能够处理多个生产工厂的日程,并同时对计划安排人员、浏览人员以及情境假设用户进行控制(功能软件需要分开购买)。各个生产工厂的日程安排可以根据需要独立进行或者相互关联。


我们是否需要一个新的管理员职位来使用该软件?

不必。大多数公司发现使用Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件确实可以明显减少在生产管理上所花费的时间。由于大多数计划操作可以自动执行,原来花在催货订单、信息统一以及更新电子表格上的时间可以用来执行更前瞻性的任务。一旦Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件投入使用,一个普通用户每天总共花费1-3个小时对日程安排进行审核和调整。


使用Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件需要哪些技术呢?

Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件使用人员必须非常熟悉车间的生产操作过程,并知道如何才是一个“好的”日程安排。除此以外,他们还应该对计算机的日常应用非常熟悉。熟悉微软Excel的人员会发现Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件很容易学习掌握。


对Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件进行设定需要多长时间?

计划人员或产品经理通常花费的总时间为40 -120 小时不等。我们知道您的团队通常忙于业务运作,因此我们可以通过互联网进行遥控工作,并根据您的使用人员的优先事项和工作时间来安排我们的时间。安装运行通常需要四到十二周的总有效时间。


Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件是否需要新的服务器?

通常不需要。除非您要对几千个订单进行计划安排或者您的服务器已经老化,否则Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件通常可以在您现有的硬件上运行。


Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件程序最适用于哪种规模的公司?

认为Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件非常实用 - 也就是说功能执行良好且获得投资回报的公司,通常需要进行大量的制造性操作,且有大量的设备投资或者大量的订单需要进行协调和按时发货。一般规律是,如果年收入在一千万到十亿美圆(USD)的公司会发现系统水平的Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling软件会带来大量的投资回报。


将APS整合到我们的ERP系统中需要的什么?成本如何?

大多数APS整合是“双向的”,输入数据和输出日程安排;前者的数据包括工作订单(附带路径/BOMS/收据)、销售订单、库存、购买订单、工作中心、设备、有时还包括雇员等;后者的日程安排日期主要用于工作订单,有助于ERP的可视性和原材料计划。由于每个公司如何使用ERP和APS系统是不同的,因此整合工具的灵活性就显得非常重要。开发一种整合功能从起草到完成一般需要的时间会根据共享数据量的不同而有所变化。我们一般希望花2-4天时间来创建一套新的整合系统。

请求程序演示

通过我们自己的数据--让我们为您演示Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling方案如何为您的企业带来效益。

即刻请求程序演示

如有疑问:

电话:

1-800-886-3737

客户支持:

1-314-991-7177

电子邮箱:

info@demandsolutions.com

Manufacturing Optimization

Frequently Asked Questions

Companies that are considering using an Advanced Planning & Scheduling solution often have questions before they get started:


What prerequisites should a company meet internally before attempting to use APS?

APS is a very "data-intensive" tool that must be fed with the right information. You'll need to have routings and bills-of-material for discrete manufacturers, or formulas and run-rates for process-manufacturers. If you're doing inventory-constrained scheduling, it will also be important to have a reliable inventory control process with accurate on-hand quantities. Also, if you're running a daily planning cycle, you'll need to track production completions at least daily; if you're on a weekly cycle, then you can track production updates weekly. Remember: Your schedule will only be as good as the data you put into it.


We're not sure if we need "finite" scheduling. When is finite better than infinite?

While rough-cut "infinite" capacity planning is useful for planning labor and capacity levels long-term, most manufacturing companies will find it much more valuable to use "finite," constraint-based planning. Unless you'll be scheduling a very low volume of production orders (maybe 25) and can make drag-and-drop adjustments manually, finite scheduling will afford you many benefits that infinite planning can't. Even if you typically have enough capacity, there likely will be "clumps" of workload that create temporary bottlenecks. Finite scheduling gives you insight into where and when these bottlenecks will occur, the impact that changes to one order's schedule will have on other orders, and detailed, actionable plans that can save immense time on the shop floor and in the planning department.


How do you measure APS success?

While there are some common measures, your concept of success will depend on your unique business — on factors such as what makes you more competitive, how your costs are distributed, and what kind of customer demand you have to meet. It's critical at the outset of an APS implementation to identify your critical areas and determine where APS can help. For example, if on-time shipments are a challenge, then you'll probably want to track due-date performance. If running out of materials in production is a frequent occurrence, then you'll need to track the frequency of these interruptions on the shop floor. If excessive WIP or long lead-times are problems, then you'll need to set up metrics for make-spans and queue times. Another common goal is to reduce the time planners spend updating schedules; in this case, tracking time spent before and after the implementation clearly will be helpful.


Who usually benefits most from an APS tool?

The benefits of APS primarily depend upon the size of the problems you have to solve. If you often miss delivery dates, have trouble quoting accurate and competitive lead times, have high inventory levels, spend a lot of time managing schedules, or incur frequent changeovers on key equipment, then the value of APS will be high. Other indicators of a need for APS would be:

  • A high number of SKUs or custom orders
  • Many production resources
  • Expensive production equipment
  • Frequent changes in customer orders and engineering change orders
  • >Complex manufacturing flows that are hard to schedule manually>
  • Long setup times
  • Job batching requirements
  • Quality-related problems that can arise from schedule mistakes

Why do we need an APS tool if we already have an ERP system?

ERP systems are great tools for managing transactions such as order entry and inventory control. Since most ERP systems evolved from accounting systems, their primary focus has always been on keeping track of what has happened rather than planning for what is going to happen. As a result, the architecture has been optimized for transaction processing rather than large-scale, high-volume data analytics. While a typical MRP re-gen can take hours or days on an ERP system, it might take only a few seconds on an APS tool. This is a critical usability issue because no planner can afford to wait hours, let alone days, after every schedule change.

In addition, the expertise for designing and creating an APS system is very different and specialized, and therefore very hard to come by. Most ERP development projects leave planning as an afterthought and only cover it at a superficial level. APS, on the other hand, is all about the details. That's why most "classic" scheduling functionality in ERP systems goes unused — simply because it is, for most companies, too simplistic to be usable. APS is an effective addition to ERP because it solves exactly the problems it was built to solve.


When I'm evaluating APS tools, how should I compare them?

An APS evaluation process should be focused on one thing: solving your critical business issues. So start by identifying what problems you want to solve, and then make sure the tool can "model" your constraints and ultimately solve your problems. Create a prioritized list of two things: your APS-related critical business issues, and the rules and constraints your planners have to take into consideration when creating schedules. Work with your APS vendor to go through both of these in detail.

Other considerations include technology, architecture and, of course, total cost of ownership. Technology and architecture should be as current as possible, and fit well with your other systems and the expertise of your IT staff. Data volume also can be a critical factor. Before choosing a system, verify it can handle your volume of orders. To be usable, a drag-and-drop reschedule in a fully loaded schedule should be able to shift other work out of the way and take just a few seconds, not minutes, to process. Where cost is concerned, implementation costs can be very high for systems that require extensive programming to build models, so be sure you consider these costs along with the cost of the software itself.

Finally, if you need multiple planners to be able to login and make changes concurrently, and if you need support for multi-plant coordination, verify your APS provides these features. Unlike ERP systems, most APS systems are single-planner, single-plant systems, so shop carefully.
How difficult is it for a typical production planner to learn to use an APS tool?
The learning curve probably depends more on the person than on the system. If you choose someone who is comfortable with computers, understands your production constraints, and is a quick learner, they can become proficient in a matter of weeks with very little training. Otherwise, it may be a much longer transition.


What industries is Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling suited for?

We've installed scheduling software in hundreds of factories across many industries. We've designed Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling to be extremely adaptable, making it capable of handling most production scheduling problems. Our industry experience spans the food and beverage, chemical, job shop, medical equipment manufacturing, industrial equipment manufacturing, coffee roasting, high-tech, printing, forges, injection molders, truck equipment manufacturing, and automotive industries. If you'd like to confirm our system will work for you, please give us a call — we have scheduling experts who will speak with you about your specific challenges.


Does Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling allow for manual schedule adjustments?

Absolutely! This is one of the solution's greatest strengths: the ease with which you can make changes in a graphical drag-and-drop environment. Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling takes it one step beyond typical scheduling systems' limited drag-and-drop capabilities, employing "capacity-constrained" drag-and-drop. This means when you make changes, the system will adjust the schedule to ensure capacity is not violated and material constraints are followed. This allows you to make changes quickly and easily, and also see the impact of your changes instantly. There are many other manual and automatic scheduling tools. Give us a call to learn more about what we can offer you.

Why should we choose Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling over other systems?

Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling will do a better job of creating accurate schedules that respect all your constraints (such as labor, machines, materials, tools and storage). It's easier to use due to its "capacity-constrained" drag-and-drop. Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling is based on the flagship Microsoft platform, the .NET Framework, which means it is more familiar to your users (like Microsoft Office), is widely supported, is easier to integrate with, and has a long lifetime ahead of it. Demand Solutions is also the only true "collaborative" scheduling system that allows multiple planners to be logged on and rescheduling simultaneously, which means you can work the way you need to as your company grows.


We don't have any "pegging" information in our ERP system that connects different levels of the bill of material. Will Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling still be able to coordinate production between work orders, or will we have to add these links manually?

Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling can examine your bill of materials for each work order to determine material requirements, and then automatically peg material flows across work orders (at any number of levels). So even if you don't have explicit links, the system will still alert you or reschedule dependent work orders if a supplying work order will be delayed (by drag-and-drop or otherwise). Note that you also can create explicit links between work orders in the event the intermediate material must be allocated to one or more specific downstream work orders.


Is the system updatable in real time so our schedule is always accurate?

Yes. Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling updates instantly whenever it receives information, such as the completion of an operation or the breakdown of a machine. The update can be pulled from your ERP system or even come from a direct feed from a labor reporting or shop floor tracking system. Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling also has its own screens, called "Shop Views," which are designed to show schedules to shop floor personnel and allow for reporting of production.


Can Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling schedule multiple plants?

Yes. The system is a "collaborative" scheduling system that can handle any number of plants and simultaneous master schedulers, viewers, and what-if users (sold separately). Plants can be scheduled independently or interdependently according to your needs.


Will we need a new administrative position to use your software?

No. Most companies find that using Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling actually greatly reduces the amount of time spent managing production. Time that is now spent expediting orders, consolidating information, and updating spreadsheets can be spent on more proactive tasks since most of the planning process will be automated. A typical user spends anywhere from one to three hours per day reviewing and adjusting the schedule once Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling is in use.


What skill set is needed to use Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling?

It's essential that your Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling schedulers be very familiar with your production operations and what would make a "good" schedule. They also should be comfortable using computers on a daily basis. Someone familiar with Microsoft Excel will find Advanced Planning & Scheduling easy to learn.


How much of our team's time will be required to setup Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling?

The total amount of time planners or production managers usually spend varies from 40 to 120 hours. We realize your team is very busy running your business, so we work remotely over the internet and schedule our time with your personnel based on their priorities and work schedules. An implementation usually takes anywhere from four to twelve weeks in calendar time.


Will we need a new server for Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling?

Usually not. Unless you're scheduling several thousand orders or your servers are aging, Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling can typically run on your existing hardware.


What size company is Advanced Planning & Scheduling best suited for?

Companies that find Advanced Planning & Scheduling to be a good fit, in terms of functionality and return on investment, typically have substantial manufacturing operations with significant equipment investments or a large number of orders that need to be coordinated and delivered on time. As a general rule, companies that range from $10 million to $1 billion (USD) in annual revenue will find there is a system level of Advanced Planning & Scheduling that will provide a substantial return on investment.


What are the requirements and costs of integrating APS to our ERP system?

Most APS integrations are "bi-directional," importing data such as work orders (with attached routings/BOMS/recipes), sale orders, inventory, purchase orders, work centers, equipment and, sometimes, employees, and exporting schedule dates for work orders to facilitate ERP visibility and material planning. One thing we've learned is that it's important that integration tools be very flexible since every company uses their ERP and APS systems differently. The typical time to develop an integration from scratch will vary according to the amount of data that needs to be shared. We usually expect to spend anywhere from two to four days creating a new integration.

Request A Demo

Let us show you--with your own data--how Demand Solutions Advanced Planning & Scheduling can benefit your business.

REQUEST A DEMO NOW

Questions?

Call Us:

1-800-886-3737

Support:

314-991-7177

Email:

info@demandsolutions.com